Last updated: November 4, 2026. Prices and features were read from each vendor's own website on that date.
Say your store does 300 orders a month at an average of $45, and your funnel shows about 1,000 carts started. Seven hundred of those carts are abandoned, which is in line with the 70.22% documented average. If a recovery plugin brings back even 3% of them, that is 21 orders, or about $945 a month, from emails that send themselves. So the question "which is the best abandoned cart plugin for WooCommerce" is worth an hour of reading. The answer depends on four things that most comparison lists never state: when the plugin captures the shopper's email, where it stores the data, what the emails can do, and what it costs after the first year.
This guide sets out the criteria first, then covers seven plugins in alphabetical order with facts taken from each vendor's own site, then shows how to choose. StorePinger is one of the seven. It is not placed first, and the criteria apply to it in the same way.
Key takeaways
- The capture point decides how many carts you can email. Checkout-field capture is standard. Add-to-cart popups capture more and interrupt more.
- Data location matters: some plugins keep carts and emails in your WordPress database, others send them to the vendor's cloud.
- Free options exist and work. Abandoned Cart Lite and CartFlows' free plugin cover basic reminders. Paid tiers add SMS, popups, workflows and analytics.
- Introductory prices are common. Check the renewal price before you buy.
- No plugin recovers carts whose owner never typed an email. The product page and shipping fixes do more for those than any plugin.
What criteria should you judge an abandoned cart plugin on?
Five things: when it captures the email, where it stores cart and customer data, what the reminder emails can do (timing, cart link, coupons), whether it reports recovered revenue only once an order is paid, and the full-price cost per year for the number of sites you run. Ratings and install counts tell you about popularity, not about fit.
- Capture point. At checkout as the email is typed, at add to cart with a popup, or through an exit prompt. Earlier capture means more emails and more interruption.
- Data location. In your own WordPress database, or in the vendor's cloud. This affects privacy obligations, what happens if you cancel, and whether the plugin works when the vendor's service is down.
- Email capability. Number of reminders, timing control, a one-click link that restores the cart, coupon rules, and whether you send from your own domain.
- Honest recovery counting. A recovered order should count only when paid, not when a link is clicked.
- Cost at renewal. Several vendors show an introductory price and renew at full price. Multiply by the number of sites.
How do the seven plugins compare?
Two are free with paid upgrades, one is a pay-per-contact email service, two are automation suites where cart recovery is one feature, one is a marketplace extension, and one is an analytics plugin with recovery built in. The table shows the facts that decide fit. Vendor figures are as of November 2026 and will change.
| Plugin | Free version | Capture point | Data location | Reminders and coupons | Price as of Nov 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abandoned Cart Lite for WooCommerce (Tyche Softwares) | Yes, 20,000+ active installs | Checkout. Add-to-cart capture is Pro | Your WordPress database | Scheduled reminders with templates. Popups, WhatsApp, SMS and Messenger are Pro | Free. Pro price on the vendor site |
| Cart Abandonment Recovery (CartFlows) | Yes, on WordPress.org | Checkout, as details are entered | Your WordPress database | Follow-ups listed at 15 minutes, 1 day, 3 days. Personalised discount codes. Pro adds unlimited follow-ups, SMS, WhatsApp | Free. Pro $99 per year for 10 sites (shown as reduced from $129), or $299 lifetime for 30 sites |
| Retainful | Yes, 500 emails per month | Checkout | Retainful's service | Email sequences with coupons, sent through Retainful | From $14 per month for up to 1,000 contacts, plus $4 per extra 500 contacts |
| AutomateWoo (Woo) | No | Checkout, plus logged-in customers | Your WordPress database | "Remind customers who left items in their cart using emails at set intervals". SMS needs a paid Twilio account | $159 per year |
| FunnelKit Automations | Not stated on the pricing page | Checkout | Your WordPress database | Abandoned cart recovery included from the Basic plan | Basic $99.50 per year introductory, "all renewals are at full price" (normally $129) |
| Abandoned Cart Recovery for WooCommerce (Addify, Woo marketplace) | No | Checkout, plus pending orders | Your WordPress database | Multiple follow-up emails with coupons, pending-order recovery, dashboard. AI features need your own API key | $79 per year, 30-day money-back |
| StorePinger | Free plan covers live visitors only. Recovery is Pro | Checkout as typed, plus a save-your-cart box for shoppers who are leaving | Your WordPress database and hosting | Two automatic reminders (3 and 24 hours by default) with a one-click cart link, a month-start reminder, cart offers with unique expiring one-time coupons that are never sent automatically, payment links for pending orders | Pro $49.99 per year for 1 site (regular $99.99), Agency $999.99 per year for 35 sites, 14-day money-back |
Where a vendor's page did not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing. The figures come from the Abandoned Cart Lite listing, the CartFlows product page, the AutomateWoo product page, and the Retainful, FunnelKit and Addify pages, all opened on November 4, 2026. The abandonment average is from the Baymard Institute.
Abandoned Cart Lite for WooCommerce
The most installed free option. Its WordPress.org page lists 20,000+ active installations and a 4.1 rating from 87 reviews, and the free version tracks carts for both guests and logged-in users, schedules reminder emails from templates, and reports recoveries. Email capture at add to cart, exit popups, SMS and WhatsApp reminders and advanced analytics are listed as Pro.
Who it suits: a store that wants reminders working today at no cost and does not need popups or SMS. What to check: the Pro price on the vendor's site if you expect to need add-to-cart capture, and the reminder timing options against your own sales cycle.
Cart Abandonment Recovery by CartFlows
A free plugin with a paid Pro tier. The vendor page describes capturing details "the moment they're entered at checkout", follow-ups at 15 minutes, 1 day and 3 days, personalised discount codes, and a dashboard of abandoned versus recovered orders. Pro is listed at $99 per year for 10 sites or $299 lifetime for 30 sites, with a 14-day refund.
Who it suits: stores already using CartFlows funnels, and agencies that want a lifetime licence across many sites. What to check: the page does not spell out which features are free and which are Pro, so test the free version against your needs before paying. The vendor's "recover up to 45%" figure is a claim on its own page without evidence shown there, and should be read as marketing.
Retainful
An email marketing service with cart recovery, priced by contacts rather than by site. The pricing page lists a free plan limited to 500 emails per month and a paid plan from $14 per month for up to 1,000 contacts, rising $4 per extra 500 contacts. Emails are sent through Retainful's service rather than your own domain.
Who it suits: stores that want recovery and newsletters in one hosted tool and are comfortable with customer data in a third-party service. What to check: the monthly cost at your real contact count, and your privacy policy wording for data sent to a vendor. The pricing page uses both "Pro" and "Starter" for the paid plan without explaining the difference.
AutomateWoo
Woo's own marketing automation extension, at $159 per year. Abandoned cart is one workflow among many: the product page lists follow-up emails, win-back campaigns, review rewards, wishlist reminders and personalised coupons, with SMS through a paid Twilio account. Carts are visible at AutomateWoo > Carts as active, abandoned, emptied, placed and recovered.
Who it suits: stores that want many automations and are happy to build workflows. What to check: the product page lists two different sets of minimum WooCommerce and WordPress versions, so confirm current requirements, and note that birthday emails and Refer A Friend are separate paid add-ons.
FunnelKit Automations
A funnel and automation suite where abandoned cart recovery is included from the Basic plan, listed at $99.50 per year as introductory pricing with the note that "all renewals are at full price", normally $129. Higher plans add funnels and more automations.
Who it suits: stores that also want checkout funnels, upsells and broader email automation. What to check: the renewal price, and whether the standalone Automations plan without funnels includes recovery, since the pricing page lists Abandoned Cart Recovery under Basic rather than under Automations alone.
Abandoned Cart Recovery for WooCommerce by Addify
A Woo marketplace extension at $79 per year with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The product page describes multiple follow-up emails with coupons, recovery of pending orders as well as carts, and a performance dashboard, plus an AI assistant for settings and templates that needs your own API key from a supported provider.
Who it suits: stores that prefer buying through the Woo marketplace and want pending-order recovery. What to check: the reviews. The page shows 4.5 from 30 reviews, and two one-star reviews describe guest carts opening empty on another device and server errors. Test guest recovery on a second device before relying on it.
StorePinger
An analytics plugin for WordPress and WooCommerce with cart recovery built in on the Pro and Agency plans. Carts are saved as soon as something is added. Two automatic reminders go out at 3 and 24 hours by default with a one-click link back to the cart, plus a month-start reminder and a save-your-cart email box for shoppers who are leaving. Recovered orders count only once paid.
Cart offers are manual by design: you choose a discount and the carts it applies to, and each shopper gets a unique one-time coupon that expires, by email if the address is known or as a notice on the store when they return. Coupons are never sent automatically. One unsubscribe list covers cart reminders and email campaigns, with a confirm step. Payment links cover pending and draft orders. Everything is stored in the store's own WordPress database and hosting, nothing about visitors is sent to StorePinger, and the visitor tracker sets no cookies. Cart recovery uses one small first-party cookie so a returning shopper finds their saved cart.
Pro is $49.99 per year for one site (regular $99.99) with every feature, Agency is $999.99 per year for 35 sites, and there is a 14-day money-back guarantee. The free plan does not include cart recovery. Who it suits: stores that want recovery next to the conversion funnel, session recordings and sales by source in one dashboard, without a third-party service. What to check: StorePinger's reminders are email only, so if you need SMS or WhatsApp reminders, look at the options above that list them. The cart recovery page has the details, and the comparison with CartFlows goes feature by feature.
How to choose: a worked example
Count your sites, estimate your contacts, decide whether data must stay in WordPress, and decide whether you need SMS. Those four answers usually leave one or two options. Then run the free version or the trial on a single store for two weeks and count paid recovered orders, not clicks.
A worked example, not a customer result. A single store, 2,500 contacts, no SMS needed, owner wants data in WordPress and wants to see why carts are abandoned, not only to email them. Per-contact pricing at 2,500 contacts is $26 per month on Retainful’s published scale (as of November 2026), or $312 a year, which rules it out on cost for this store. SMS-first tools are unnecessary. That leaves the in-WordPress options: a free plugin for reminders alone, or an analytics plugin with recovery if the funnel and recordings matter. At $49.99 a year the second costs about $4 a month more than free and answers the "why" question. A different store with 20 client sites and no need for analytics would weigh CartFlows' lifetime licence for 30 sites instead.
- List your must-haves: capture point, data location, SMS, number of sites.
- Strike every option that fails a must-have.
- For the rest, note the full renewal price per site.
- Install the free version or trial on one store. Leave every default alone for two weeks.
- Count recovered orders that were paid. Divide recovered revenue by the yearly price.
- Keep the one that pays for itself. Switch off the other.
What none of these plugins can do
No plugin can email a shopper who never typed an address, recover a cart whose owner was only browsing, or fix a checkout that fails on phones. Recovery emails work on the minority of abandoners you can identify. The rest are reached by changes to the product page, the shipping message and the checkout itself, which no reminder sequence replaces.
This is the part comparison lists leave out, because it does not sell a plugin. Baymard's reasons for abandonment put extra costs first at 40% and slow delivery second at 20% among shoppers who were not simply browsing. Both strike before the shopper reaches the email field. A store that shows shipping cost and delivery dates on the product page prevents those abandonments. A store that only installs a recovery plugin emails the few who got further and loses the rest silently.
The practical order is: measure where shoppers leave, fix the biggest leak, then add reminders for the carts that still get away. A plugin that shows the funnel and the carts in the same screen makes that order easy to follow, which is the case for an analytics plugin with recovery built in and not for a reminder-only plugin. Either way, the guide to reducing cart abandonment covers the fixes that come before any email.
Common mistakes
- Choosing by rating. A 4.8 with 20 reviews and a 4.1 with 2,000 are not comparable. Read the one-star reviews for the failure modes.
- Ignoring renewal prices. Introductory pricing is explicit on at least one vendor's page above.
- Running two recovery plugins. The shopper gets two sequences and you get double-counted recoveries.
- Discounting every cart. Shoppers learn fast. Keep coupons manual and targeted.
- Measuring clicks. Only paid orders count. Check how the plugin defines "recovered".
- Forgetting deliverability. A reminder in the spam folder is not a reminder. Set up SPF, DKIM and DMARC on your sending domain. The email examples guide covers wording and timing.
- Expecting a plugin to fix a cart-stage problem. Most abandoners never typed an email. The cart vs checkout abandonment guide explains which fixes apply before checkout.
Conclusion
The best abandoned cart plugin for WooCommerce is the one that captures the email at the point your shoppers reach, stores data where your privacy policy says it should be, sends reminders with a link that actually restores the cart, counts a recovery only when it is paid, and costs a price you have checked at renewal. For many stores a free plugin meets all five. For stores that want to know why carts are abandoned as well as to email about them, an analytics plugin with recovery built in does the two jobs together. Start by learning how to see your abandoned carts, then test one option for two weeks and let paid recovered orders decide. The comparison page shows how StorePinger lines up against the analytics plugins it is most often measured against.